ADDITIONAL FBPE APPLICATIONS & FORMS
RETIRED STATUS APPLICATION
As a Florida licensed professional engineer if you are no longer actively practicing engineering, you can apply to retire your license. Retiring your license means that you are willing to relinquish your license, not renew, and that you will refrain from practicing engineering and the use of your seal.
To “retire” your license, you must complete the Application for Retired Status and submit to FBPE for Board approval. Once you have been approved and your license is officially in a “retired” status, your licensure record will be updated to reflect “PE, Retired.” Retired licensees can refer to themselves as “Professional Engineer, Retired ” or “PE, Retired,” but cannot engage in any engineering practice.
Should you decide to return to active practice, you will need to complete and submit a new application for licensure under the Florida licensing requirements in effect at the time you apply. Note: your previously held PE number cannot be reinstated once retired. If your new application for licensure is approved, a new PE license number will be issued.
If you are unsure about “retiring” your license, you may consider requesting to have your license made “inactive.” If you have questions related to either of these processes, please contact the Board office at (850) 521-0500, ext. 113.
APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF STATUS – ACTIVE TO INACTIVE – $98.75 FEE
If you are a Florida licensed engineer and are not currently practicing engineering in this state, but you do not want to “retire” your license, you can apply to change the status of your PE license from from “active” to “inactive”.
To change your “active” license status to an “inactive” license status, you will need to complete the Application for Change of Status Form – Active to Inactive and submit the $98.75 fee to FBPE.
Once you are granted “inactive” status, you will still be required to pay the renewal fee for each biennium that your license is inactive, pursuant to Rule 61G15-22.0002, F.A.C. You will not be required to take any continuing education hours.
Should you decide to activate your license, you will be required to submit the Application for Change of Status Form – Inactive to Active with all required documents, pay any additional licensure fees necessary to equal those imposed on an active status licensee, pay any applicable reactivation fees as set by the board and meet all continuing education requirements as defined in Rule 61G15-22.001, F.A.C.
If you have questions related to either of these processes, please contact the Board office at (850) 521-0500, ext. 113.
Active to Inactive-pdf <<< Click to Download
APPLICATION FOR CHANGE OF STATUS – INACTIVE TO ACTIVE – $98.75 FEE
If you are a Florida licensee with an “inactive” license, you may apply to change your license status back to “active” at any time, provided you meet the requirements for active status, pay the application fee and any other applicable licensure or reactivation fees. In addition, you will be required to demonstrate that you have completed the 18 hours of continuing education if you hold a Florida license only. If you hold a license and practice engineering in another state, you will be required to show verification of continuous licensure in that state and complete one (1) hour of Florida laws and rules continuing education.
To change your “inactive” license status to an “active” license status, you will need to complete the Application for Change of Status Form – Inactive to Active and submit the $98.75 fee to FBPE.
NOTE: Depending on the amount of time your license has been in an “inactive” status, we recommend you contact the Board office at (850) 521-0500, ext. 113, prior to submitting the “inactive to active” status change application. You may need to renew your license prior to submitting the application and provide a copy of your receipt to FBPE to request your status change.
VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE FORM
If you are a Florida licensed Professional Engineer seeking licensure in another state or are an Engineer Intern (EI )seeking verification of Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exams, you can complete verification requests by either going to NCEES directly or submitting a request to FBPE using the form below. Please note: Effective July 28, 2014, there is no longer a fee associated with submitting licensure verifications to FBPE.
As of June 20, 2016, NCEES implemented a new MyNCEES system where users will go to register for exams, download/purchase exam prep materials, apply for an NCEES Record, request license and exam verifications, track CPC, or have their credentials evaluated. To request verification from NCEES directly, go to https://account.ncees.org/login. Once you login, Click on “License verification” or “Exam verification” from the “Common Tasks” shown on the dashboard screen.
To request licensure verification with FBPE:
- Download FBPE’s Verification of Licensure form if a form was not provided by the state of application.
- Complete Name, Certificate/License # and Name and Address of State requesting the record of verification (the “To” section).
- Forward the form to our office at the following address:
Florida Board of Professional Engineers
2639 N. Monroe Street, Suite B-112
Tallahassee, FL 32303
- FBPE will complete the form from our records and forward to the state to which you are currently making an application. Please provide an addressed envelope to forward the completed verification form to the state of application.
If you have any questions, please contact the Board office at (850) 521-0500, ext. 116.
Verification of Licensure -pdf <<< Click to Download
Verification of Licensure -doc <<< Click to Download
DUPLICATE OR REPLACEMENT LICENSES/CERTIFICATES ORDER FORM
If you are a Florida certified Engineer Intern (EI), Certificate of Authorization (CA) holder, or licensed Professional Engineer and need a duplicate or replacement license or certificate, you will need to complete the order form below and submit to FBPE for processing. The fee for ordering a replacement or duplicate license is $25.00.
For those individuals needing to change their name and obtain a new copy of their license, you must submit a copy of a marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court order along with the order form and the $25.00 fee.
Please allow 4-6 weeks for processing , printing and mailing. If you have any questions, please contact the Board office at (850) 521-0500, ext. 111.
Order Form for Duplicate License/Certificate-pdf <<< Click to Download
Order Form for Duplicate License/Certificate-doc <<< Click to Download