You must complete 18 hours of continuing education by the end of the biennial license renewal period, which is Feb. 28 of each odd-numbered year. The required hours are:
- One hour of Florida Laws & Rules from a Board-approved laws & rules provider;
- One hour of professional ethics;
- Four hours related to your area of practice; and
- 12 hours of general engineering education
If you passed the Principles & Practice of Engineering exam during the current biennium and Florida is your first state of PE licensure, Rule 61G15-22.009, Florida Administrative Code, exempts you from continuing education requirements for the same biennium only. This exemption does not apply to the Advanced Building Code training (see above).
PEs licensed in Florida must retain completion and attendance certificates for continuing education for at least two licensure cycles, or four years, but should not report CE to the Board unless requested. Random CE audits are conducted following each renewal period. If you are audited, you will be required to provide those certificates as proof of completing your CE requirements. Do not submit your CE certificates to the Board unless you are requested to do so.
The only exception: PEs who take the Advanced Building Code course must report completion of the course to the Board.
NCEES provides a continuing professional competency (CPC) program to track and report your continuing education requirements across multiple states in which you are licensed.
The CPC program provides a side-by-side tracking of CE requirements and renewal periods for each state. Your information can be electronically transmitted to each state licensing board during a renewal period.
NCEES CPC tracking is a free program.