All current Professional Engineer licenses are set to expire, Feb. 28, 2021. Beginning Monday, Nov. 2, 2020, online license renewal will officially open for the 2021-23 biennium.
To assist you in renewing your license, FBPE is providing you with general information, helpful hints, and basic instructions for accessing your account and renewing your license online. We have also included information about license status changes and continuing education requirements. Please read the information very carefully prior to renewing your license. If you have any issues accessing your account, please call the Board office at (850) 521-0500 and select “Renewal” for assistance.
General Renewal Information
Renewal Fee: You can save $10 if you renew your Professional Engineer license before Jan. 15, 2021. Renewal fees include a $5 unlicensed activity fee, which FBPE must charge pursuant to Chapter 497.140, Florida Statutes, Fees. (If your license is currently delinquent, your renewal fee will be $222.50.) If you fail to renew by the deadline of Feb. 28, 2021, you must pay a $25 delinquent fee. Renewal fees are:
$88.75: Discounted renewal fee for current and active licenses, applies Nov. 2, 2020, through Jan. 15, 2021.
$98.75: Regular renewal fee for current and active licenses, applies Jan. 16 through Feb. 28, 2021.
$123.75: Renewal fee and delinquent fee, applies after Feb. 28, 2021.
Engineering Companies: Following a change in the Florida statutes in 2019, companies offering engineering services in Florida are no longer required to hold Certificates of Authorization. Instead, any company offering engineering services in Florida must have a licensed Professional Engineer qualify them; qualified business organizations do not need to be renewed every two years. For more information, see the Engineering Firms page under the Licensure section on the FBPE website.
Online Printing of Licenses: PE licenses are only available through your account at myfloridalicense.com. Licenses cannot be mailed. Check your licensure record prior to renewal to ensure that the email address and other information associated with your license is current and accurate. If any information is dated or incorrect, you risk not getting important notices from the Board.
Continuing Education Requirements: Professional Engineers licensed in Florida are required to obtain 18 continuing education hours to renew their licenses. For more information about the CE requirement, visit the Continuing Education section of FBPE’s website. Exceptions to the CE requirement include:
Some New Licensees: If you passed your Principles & Practice exam in April 2019 or October 2019, and Florida is your first state of PE licensure, you are only required to pay the fee to renew your license. You do not need to complete the 18 hours of continuing education for this renewal cycle. However, effective with the 2023-2025 biennium, you must complete your continuing education hours and pay the renewal fee to renew your license.
Inactive Licensees: If your license is currently “inactive” and you want to become “active,” you can renew your license at myfloridalicense.com and pay the renewal fee (see above). Once that is complete, contact the Board office at (850) 521-0500 ext. 113, to find out how to complete the status change. You may be required to show that you have completed the 18 hours of CE if your license has been “inactive” for more than a year.
Attestation Statements: Each licensee must attest to the accuracy of their licensure information, the completion of CE for the renewal period, and the reporting of any disciplinary action taken against your license in another jurisdiction. Your license will not renew until you have provided a response to these statements.
Receipts: You should receive an automatic email from the Department of Business and Professional Regulation licensing system confirming that your renewal application has been received. This email will contain an Online Payment Summary in the form of a PDF attachment. This serves as a receipt.
Replacement Certificates: Replacement wall certificates (not licenses) for PEs can be ordered for $25. Please allow four to six weeks for printing and mailing of a replacement certificate. (PE licenses are available online only.)
License Issues & Status Changes
Delinquent/Active License: If your license has a status of delinquent/active and you wish to renew your license, you must complete 18 hours of continuing education, including one hour of Florida laws and rules from a Board-approved provider, and one hour of professional ethics; and four hours related to your area of practice; and 12 hours related to any topic pertinent to the practice of engineering.
You also must pay a $25 delinquent fee, as well as the fee for the past renewal cycle and the fee for the current renewal. If you do not renew before Feb. 28, 2021, your license will become null and void.
Null & Void License: If your license is delinquent and you do not renew in this renewal cycle, your license status will become null and void on March 1, 2021. A license status of null and void means that your PE license is no longer valid. To have your license reinstated, you must complete an application, meet the requirements, and pay a $155 fee. The reinstatement application and other information is available on the Change of Status & Other FBPE Applications page in the Licensure section of the FBPE website.
License Status Change: To change the status of your PE license (to active or inactive), please use the Change of Status Application on the Change of Status & Other FBPE Applications page in the Licensure section of the FBPE website. Complete details and fees are available on that page.
Military Status: Pursuant to Section 455.02(1), F.S., any member of the U.S. Armed Forces may request that their PE license be placed in a military status, without paying dues or fees or performing any other act such as continuing education. This status will be in effect as long as the service member is on active duty and for a period of six months after discharge from active duty, if they are not engaged in the licensed profession or vocation in the private sector for profit.
If you are a Professional Engineer licensed in Florida and meet these requirements, you must inform the Board and provide the military orders placing you on active duty. Once you are discharged from active duty, you must notify the Board within six months of discharge and submit a Form DD-214. No continuing education or fee is required to return your license to a current and active status. If you have any questions regarding an active military status, please contact the Board office at firstname.lastname@example.org or call (850) 521-0500 and select “Renewal.”