We’re about halfway between the close of the previous license renewal period for Florida Professional Engineers and the start of the next one. Here are three things you can do now to make sure your renewal goes smoothly.
Log Into the Licensure Portal
Head over to the Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s website, myfloridalicense.com, log into your account, and confirm that your PE license is linked to your account. If it isn’t, follow the instructions on our PE License Renewal: Step-by-Step page.
You will need access to your account to renew your PE license, as well as to request a printable copy of your license. If you discover that you have misplaced your password or that your account or license is associated with a different email address, contact the Board at (850) 521-0500 for assistance.
Update Your Contact Information
While you are logged into your account, check that your contact information is up to date.
Florida statutes require that PEs licensed in the state keep their contact information up to date with the Board. This includes your email address, mailing address, and place of practice. (See Section 455.275(1), Florida Statutes.)
You can update your contact information in the licensure portal by following these steps. Or, you can fill out the Change Contact Information form on our website.
If you haven’t been receiving emails from FBPE, including the quarterly Connection newsletter, you may have unsubscribed. Visit our Resubscribe to FBPE Emails page to fill out and submit the form to ensure that you receive important information regarding your Florida PE license.
Complete Your Continuing Education
You must have completed 18 hours of continuing education by the time the next licensure renewal period closes, at midnight Feb. 28, 2023. You have just over a year left to do that.
Keep in mind that of those 18 hours, one hour must relate to the Florida laws and rules of Professional Engineers from a Board-approved provider, and one hour must relate to professional ethics. Four hours must relate to area of practice. The remaining 12 hours may be related to any topic pertinent to the practice of engineering.
After each renewal period closes, just over 3 percent of PEs licensed in Florida will be audited to verify that they have completed their continuing education. (The current CE audit is underway.) Under Rule 61G15-19.004, Florida Administrative Code, penalties for a first violation for failing to complete your CE courses, in addition to the costs of the investigation, can range from a Reprimand and a $1,000 fine, to a one-year suspension, a two-year probation, and a $5,000 fine.
Taking care of these three items now will stand you in good stead for the upcoming license renewal period.